Research Center on Social Innovation and Transformation

The Research Centre for Social Innovation and Transformation brings an interdisciplinary lens of inquiry to the complex linkages between innovation and social transformation, as seen across multiple perspectives. In exploring these questions, we prioritize emancipatory  theories, grounded in an analysis of systems of oppression. In doing so, we seek to contribute to a deeper and more interconnected understanding of the logics and strategies employed by social movements and grassroots communities, as well as the role of institutions.  In particular, we are interested in their impacts on diverse systems of oppression including sexism, colonialism, racism, capitalism and extractivism. 

Working in close collaboration with the Élisabeth-Bruyère School of Social Innovation and the MaurilBélanger Atelier of Social Innovation, the CRITS creates space open to the community in order to co-construct and bring into being diverse collective action projects.  This environment enables graduate students to become invested in a dynamic research space where they can build capacities in the production and dissemination of engaged research. 

 

Ongoing research

Our projects

The CRITS team has several ongoing research projects. These projects seek to advance the different research axes of the Research Centre through a dialogue between theory and practice.

Partners

Our network

None of our work would be possible without our partners. This is, in part, because they provide the financing to realize our mission, but also because we work directly with grassroots organizations in the production and co-creation of research. 

Team

Our researchers

Various people are involved with CRITS and practice innovative and engaged research within communities.

Research axis

Our program

The CRITS has four research axes through which each of its projects are integrated: Social Action, Emancipation, Democratic Management, Engaged Pedagogies and Research Practices.

Centre de recherche sur les innovations et les transformations sociales

Le CRITS développe un regard interdisciplinaire sur le lien complexe entre innovations et transformations sociales qui se décline selon plusieurs perspectives. Nous privilégions l’étude de cette problématique depuis l’angle des théories émancipatrices et les perspectives d’analyse des systèmes d’oppressions. Par-là, nous visons à contribuer à l’approfondissement et au décloisonnement des connaissances sur les logiques et les stratégies d’intervention portés par les mouvements sociaux et les communautés ainsi que sur le rôle des institutions. Nous nous intéressons à leurs impacts sur différents systèmes oppressifs : sexisme, colonialisme, racisme, capitalisme et extractivisme.

Travaillant en étroite collaboration avec l’École d’innovation sociale Élisabeth-Bruyère et de l’Atelier d’innovation sociale Mauril-Bélanger, le CRITS crée des espaces ouverts aux communautés afin de faire converger divers projets d’action collective. Ce contexte offre aux étudiant·e·s de cycles supérieurs la possibilité de s’investir au sein d’un espace de recherche dynamique afin de se familiariser avec la production et la diffusion de recherches engagées.

Recherches en cours

Nos projets

L’équipe du CRITS a plusieurs projets de recherche en cours. Ces projets ont pour but de réaliser les différents axes de recherche du centre en croisant théorie et pratique.

Partenaires

Notre réseau

Le travail du CRITS ne serait pas possible sans nos partenaires. Bien sûr parce qu’ils permettent de financer notre mission, mais aussi parce que nous travaillons directement avec des organisations sur le terrain.

VOIR NOS PARTENAIRES

Équipe

Nos chercheurs et chercheuses

Plusieurs personnes s’impliquent au CRITS et y pratiquent une recherche innovante et engagée au sein des communautés.

VOIR L’ÉQUIPE

Axes de recherche

Notre programme

Le CRITS a quatre axes de recherche dans lesquels s’intègre l’ensemble de ses projets: Action sociale, Émancipation, Gestion démocratique, Pédagogies engagées et pratiques de la recherche.

ALLER VERS LES AXES