Professors

Anahi Morales Hudon

Assistant Professor
Ph.D. in Sociology, McGill University.

Anahi Morales Hudon holds a doctorate in sociology from McGill University and specializes in the study of social movements and intersectionality. Her doctoral research focused on the struggle of indigenous women to build organizational autonomy in Mexico. Anahi Morales Hudon has published articles in: Canadian Journal of Political Science (2017), Journal of Latin American Studies (2015), Sociology and Societies (2012), Feminist Research (2011). She has also done comparative research of indigenous women’s movements in three Latin American countries with Stéphanie Rousseau, which was recently published with Palgrave: Indigenous Women’s Movements in Latin America: Gender and Ethnicity in Peru, Mexico, and Bolivia (2016).

Publications and public activities

Jonathan Durand Folco

Assistant Professor
Ph.D., Philosophy, University of Laval

Jonathan Durand Folco specializes in the study of participatory and deliberative democracy, economic and social ethics, philosophy of the city and political ecology. In addition to his many diverse publications (scientific articles, book chapters, citizen memoir, blog posts, newspaper articles, oral communications, etc.), he helped set up the Union of Popular Knowledge of Quebec and the journal Milieu(x). His current research projects focus on digital democracy, urban social innovations and the commons-based transition.

Publications and public activities

Philippe Dufort

Associate Professor

Ph.D. International Studies, Cambridge University

Philippe Dufort holds a PhD in International Studies from Cambridge University in the UK with a specialization in Strategic Studies. His current research focuses on the theoretical underpinnings of strategic innovation, as well as contemporary forms of state capitalism and its geo-economic consequences. He was the founding director of the Élisabeth Bruyère School of Social Innovation in 2016. He was also Associate Editor for the Cambridge Journal of International Affairs, a political analyst at the Canadian Mission to the European Union, as well as an human rights observer in conflict zones.

Publications and public activities

Simon Tremblay-Pepin

Assistant Professor and Director of the School of Social Innovation
Ph.D. Political Science, York University

Simon Tremblay-Pepin holds a PhD in Political Science (York). He specializes in the study of linkages between the economy and democracy, a topic that was the focus of his thesis and a series of publications. He has been active in starting and consolidating many social enterprises and cooperatives. He has also published numerous research reports on Québec’s public finances. He is the author of Illusion: petit manuel pour une critique des médias (Lux, 2013) and has coordinated Dépossession: une histoire économique du Québec contemporain 1. Resources (Lux, 2014).

Publications and public activities

Amanda Wilson

Assistant Professor
Ph.D. in Sociology, Carleton University.

Amanda Wilson holds a PhD in Sociology, with a Specialization in Political Economy. Her areas of research include the food movement and alternative food networks, co-operatives and collective organizing, and questions related to prefiguration and enacting a politics of possibility. Prior to joining the School of Innovation at Saint Paul University her undertook a community-based PostDoctoral Fellowship at Lakehead University’s Centre for Sustainable Food System Research and Engagement, working with Food Secure Canada on food movement mobilizations in national food policy. She has published in both academic and non-academic outlets, including Antipode, Engaged Scholar, BriarPatch, Labour Notes, IPolitics and The Conversation, and recently co-edited a Special Issue of Canadian Food Studies. Outside of academia, she has worked with several non-governmental organizations in the areas of policy analysis, research, network coordination and popular education, and previously co-owned a small-scale organic vegetable farm. She is a long-time activist and community organizer in Ottawa.

Jamel Stambouli

Assistant Professor
Ph.D. in Management, HEC Montreal.

Jamel Stambouli holds a PhD in Management. His doctoral research explored the importance of sociocultural factors in organizations and discussed the influence of spirituality and religious values ​​on entrepreneurs and management organizations. Many of his writings have been published in the form of reports and book chapters. His current research interests include social entrepreneurship and the development and management of social and solidarity economy organizations. He has professional experience in the industry and has been a consultant to both national and international organizations. He has also acted as a coach for several entrepreneurs.

Professeur·e·s

Anahi Morales Hudon

Professeure adjointe
Ph.D. Sociologie, Université McGill

Anahi Morales Hudon détient un doctorat en sociologie de l’Université McGill et se spécialise dans l’étude des mouvements sociaux et l’intersectionnalité. Sa recherche doctorale a porté sur la lutte des femmes autochtones pour la construction d’une autonomie organisationnelle au Mexique. Anahi Morales Hudon a publié des articles dans: Revue Canadienne de Science Politique (2017), Journal of Latin American Studies (2015), Sociologie et Sociétés (2012), Recherches féministes (2011). Elle a aussi réalisé une recherche comparative des mouvements de femmes autochtones dans trois pays latino-américains avec Stéphanie Rousseau qui vient de paraître chez Palgrave (Indigenous women’s movements in Latin America: Gender and Ethnicity in Peru, Mexico, and Bolivia).

Publications et activités publiques

Jonathan Durand Folco

Professeur adjoint
Ph.D., Philosophie, Université Laval

Jonathan Durand Folco se spécialise dans l’étude de la démocratie participative et délibérative, l’éthique économique et sociale, la philosophie de la ville et l’écologie politique. Outre ses nombreuses publications en tous genres (articles scientifiques, chapitres de livres, mémoire citoyen, billets de blogue, articles de journaux, communications orales, etc.), il a contribué à mettre sur pied l’Union des savoirs populaires de Québec et la revue Milieu(x). Ses projets de recherche actuels portent sur la démocratie numérique, les innovations sociales en milieu urbain et la transition basée sur les communs.

Publications et activités publiques

Philippe Dufort

Professeur agrégé

(nomination conjointe avec l’École d’études de conflits)

Ph.D. Études internationales, Université Cambridge

Philippe Dufort a obtenu un doctorat en études internationales à l’Université Cambridge au Royaume-Uni avec une spécialisation en études stratégiques. Ses recherches actuelles portent sur les fondements théoriques de l’innovation stratégique, ainsi que sur les formes contemporaines du capitalisme d’État et ses conséquences géo-économiques. Il fut le directeur fondateur de l’École d’innovation sociale Élisabeth-Bruyère en 2016. Il a par ailleurs été éditeur associé pour le Cambridge Review of International Affairs, analyste politique à la mission canadienne auprès de l’Union européenne, ainsi qu’observateur des droits humains en zones de conflit.

Publications et activités publiques

Simon Tremblay-Pepin

Professeur adjoint et Directeur de l’École d’innovation sociale
Ph.D. Science politique, Université York

Simon Tremblay-Pepin est titulaire d’un doctorat en science politique (York). Il se spécialise dans l’étude des liens entre économie et démocratie auquel il a consacré sa thèse et une série de publications. Il a été actif dans le démarrage et la consolidation de nombreuses entreprises sociales et de coopératives. Il a également publié de nombreux rapports de recherche sur les finances publiques du Québec. Enfin, il est l’auteur d’Illusion : petit manuel pour une critique des médias (Lux, 2013) et a coordonné Dépossession : une histoire économique du Québec contemporain 1. Les ressources (Lux, 2014).

Publications et activités publiques

Amanda Wilson

Professeur Adjoint
PhD, Sociologie, Université de Carleton

Amanda Wilson est titulaire d’un doctorat en sociologie avec une spécialisation en économie politique. Ses domaines de recherche comprennent le mouvement alimentaire et les systèmes alimentaires alternatifs, les coopératives et l’organisation collective, ainsi que les questions liées à la préfiguration et à la mise en œuvre d’une politique de la possibilité. Avant de se joindre à l’école d’innovation de l’Université Saint-Paul, elle a complété une bourse postdoctorale communautaire au Centre de recherche et d’engagement sur les systèmes alimentaires durable de l’Université de Lakehead. Elle a publié des articles dans des publications universitaires et non universitaires, notamment Antipode, Engaged Scholar, BriarPatch, Labour Notes, IPolitics et The Conversation, et a récemment coédité un numéro spécial de la Revue canadienne des études sur l’alimentation. En dehors du milieu universitaire, elle a travaillé avec plusieurs organisations non gouvernementales dans les domaines de l’analyse des politiques, de la recherche, de la coordination des réseaux et de l’éducation populaire. Elle était aussi copropriétaire d’une petite ferme de légumes biologiques. Elle est une militante de longue date et une organisatrice communautaire à Ottawa.

Jamel Stambouli

Professeur Adjoint
Ph.D. Management, HEC Montréal

Jamel Stambouli est titulaire d’un doctorat en management. Sa recherche doctorale a exploré l’importance des facteurs socioculturels au sein des organisations et elle a traité de l’influence de la spiritualité et des valeurs religieuses sur les entrepreneurs et le management des organisations. Plusieurs de ses écrits ont été publiés sous formes de rapports, de chapitres de livres. Ces intérêts de recherche actuels touchent l’entrepreneuriat social, le développement et le management des organisations d’économie sociale et solidaire. Il a par ailleurs une expérience professionnelle dans l’industrie et a été consultant auprès d’organismes nationaux et internationaux. Il a aussi agi comme accompagnateur au profit de plusieurs entrepreneur(e)s.