About Us

At Saint Paul University, social innovation takes place within two organizations: the Élisabeth Bruyère School of Social Innovation and the Mauril-Bélanger Social Innovation Workshop. Deeply connected, these two organizations are in direct contact with both the Ottawa-Gatineau community and the social innovation sector in Ontario and Quebec.

Élisabeth Bruyère School of Social Innovation

The Élisabeth Bruyère School of Social Innovation is the first social innovation school in Canada. It offers a variety of academic programs that combine critical thinking, social action and democratic management. Designed for both students completing their first university education and for professionals who want to improve their skills, it offers solid theoretical training coupled with a practical focus in teaching.

The School of Social Innovation’s mission is to provide theoretical and practical training in the field of collective action and social innovation in local communities. More specifically, the School focuses on the dissemination of knowledge related to the emergence of new models of organization, social practices and civic engagement to combat social inequalities and various forms of oppression, as well as fight against poverty. Social innovation includes not only social entrepreneurship and collective enterprises, but all initiatives, movements and experiments responding to immediate needs while promoting democracy, justice and social change.

The Mauril-Bélanger Social Innovation Workshop

The Mauril-Bélanger Social Innovation Workshop is a place for training, collaboration, collective work and initiating social organizations that can have a positive impact on the community and fight against poverty.

This unique space is attached to the Élisabeth Bruyère School of Social Innovation at Saint Paul University. The Atelier is a dynamic hub for the incubation of innovative projects, non-profit organizations and social enterprises.

The Atelier aims to provide a collaborative workspace, training, knowledge transfer and support to social innovation initiatives, organizations and businesses.

OBJECTIVES

  •       Welcome and support social innovation projects at their incubation and start-up stages
  •       Support projects that meet the needs of their communities in a unique, concrete and innovative way
  •       Promote initiatives that address inequalities and poverty in an efficient and sustainable manner
  •       Support initiatives targeting Francophones, newcomers and First Nations
  •       Connect innovation initiatives with research projects
  •       Facilitate the exchange and dissemination of practices and knowledge.

À propos

À l’Université Saint-Paul, l’innovation sociale se conjugue dans deux organisations : l’École d’innovation sociale Élisabeth-Bruyère et l’Atelier d’innovation sociale Mauril-Bélanger. Profondément liées, ces deux organisations sont en lien direct à la fois avec la communauté d’Ottawa-Gatineau et le secteur de l’innovation sociale de l’Ontario et du Québec.

École d’innovation sociale Élisabeth-Bruyère

L’École d’innovation sociale Élisabeth-Bruyère est la première école d’innovation sociale au Canada. Elle offre une variété de programmes universitaires qui conjuguent la pensée critique, l’action sociale et la gestion démocratique. Conçue à la fois pour des étudiant·e·s complétant leur premier parcours universitaire et pour des professionnel·le·s souhaitant se perfectionner, elle propose une solide formation théorique doublée d’une approche pratique de l’enseignement.

L’École d’innovation sociale à pour mission de fournir une formation théorique et pratique dans le domaine de l’action collective et des innovations sociales s’inscrivant dans les communautés locales. Plus particulièrement, l’École se penche sur la transmission des savoirs liés à l’émergence de nouveaux modèles d’organisation, de pratiques sociales et d’engagement citoyen permettant la lutte contre les inégalités sociales et les différentes formes d’oppression ainsi que la lutte contre la pauvreté. L’innovation sociale comprend non seulement l’entrepreneuriat social et les entreprises collectives, mais l’ensemble des initiatives, mouvements et expérimentations répondant à des besoins tout en faisant la promotion de la démocratie, de la justice et du changement social.

En savoir plus sur l’école

Atelier d’innovation sociale Mauril-Bélanger

L’Atelier est un espace bilingue inclusif (physique et virtuel) de collaboration, de formation, de partage de savoirs et de soutien aux innovations sociales. Cet OBNL est l’application pratique d’un écosystème situé à l’Université Saint-Paul à Ottawa aux côtés de l’École d’innovation sociale Élisabeth Bruyère et du Centre de recherche sur les inégalités et les transformations sociales (CRITS). Les membres sont les acteurs et actrices du milieu de l’innovation sociale: étudiant.e.s, chercheurs.euses, praticiens.nes, entrepreneur.e.s et communautés locales.

Avec ses partenaires, l’Atelier offre de la formation; de l’accompagnement; et des occasions de visibilité et de financement à des individus et des projets qui inventent des modèles d’organisation, de pratiques sociales et d’engagement et permettant la lutte contre les inégalités sociales et les différentes formes d’oppression.

En savoir plus sur l’Atelier

OBJECTIFS

  • Accueillir et accompagner les projets d’innovation sociale à leur stade d’incubation et de démarrage
  • Soutenir les projets qui répondent aux besoins de leurs communautés de façon originale, concrète et innovante
  • Promouvoir des initiatives qui visent à contrer les inégalités et la pauvreté de manière efficiente et durable
  • Appuyer les initiatives visant les francophones, les nouveaux arrivants et les premières nations
  • Faire converger les initiatives d’innovation avec les projets de recherche
  • Faciliter l’échange et la diffusion de pratiques et de savoirs